New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

CT-222 Underpayment of

1990 Estimated Tax by Corporations  For calendar year 1990
7= With Tax and Tax Surcharge Exceeding $1,000 :;;':" vear 1991
Tax Law - Articles 9, 9-A, 13-A, 32 and 33 ’
Name Employer identification number File number
L=t 1 1 1 11 |
Selection of exception — check one (see Exceptions in instructions on back page)
1 [ Current tax rates applied to last year's facts and law (2) O annualized (3) [J seasonal (4)
Computation of Underpayment 1989 1990
2 Corporation franchise tax and tax surcharge (see instructions)
3 Multiply line 2, 1990 column by 90% (90) .......... .. .. it
4 Multiply line 2, 1989 column by 259% (.25) - enter result in both columns .. .......... 4
5 In 1989 column, subtract line 4 from line 2. In 1990 column, subtract line 4 from line 3| 5
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Enter due date of installments ... .....................

25% of 1989 tax (from line 4). .. .......................
Enter amount of the instaliments due in columns B, C and
(see instructions) . .............. ... . . iy
Amount paid or credited for each period
Overpayment of previous installment
Addlines8and 9 ............ ... ... ... . ... ...

Overpayment
(In column A, subtract line 6 from line 10 .............
In columns B, C and D, subtract line 7 from line 10). . ..

Underpayment
(In column A, subtract line 10 from line 6 . ...........
In columns B, C and D, subtract line 10 from line 7) . ..

Computation of Underpayment Penalty
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Enter the date of payment or the 15th day of the 3rd month|
after the end of the tax year, whichever is earlier. ... ...

Number of days from due date of installment to the date
shownonline 13 ... ... ... ... ... ... .. .. ... ...

Number of days on line 14 after 3/15/90 and before 10/14/90 . . .

Number of days on line 14 after 9/30/90 and before 11/91 . . ..

Number of days on line 14 after 12/31/30 and before 4/1/91 . . .

Number of days on line 14 after 3/31/91 and before 74/91 . . ..

Number of days on line 14 after 6/30/91 and before 10/1/91 . ..

Number of days on line 14 after 9/30/91 and before 11/92 . . . .

Number of days on line 14 after 12/31/91 and before 3/15/92 . .

Number of days on line 15
Number of days in the tax year x 11% x amount on line 12 . . ..

Number of days on line 16
Number of days in the tax year x 11% x amountonline 12 .. ..

Number of days on line 17
Number of days in the tax year x %* x amount on line 12. . ...

Number of days on line 18
Number of days in the tax year x %"* x amount on line 12. . ...

Number of days on line 19
Number of days in the tax year x %* x amount on line 12. .. ..

Number of days on line 20
Number of days in the tax year x %* x amount on fine 12. . . ..

Number of days on line 21
Number of days in the tax year x %" x amount on line 12. . . ..

Add lines 22 through 28 . . .. ........ ... ... ... .. ......

Underpayment penalty (see instructions) . ................

Add line 30 columns A through D. Enter here and on your franchise tax return

*For information as to applicable rate on or after December 31, 1990, see instructions.

CT-222



CT-222 (1990) (back)

Instructions
Attach this form to your New York State franchise tax return.

General Information

A corporation whose New York State franchise tax liability can
reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000 must make estimated
tax payments during the year. Estimated franchise taxes are
usually paid in four installments. The first installment is made
with the prior year’s tax return, if the tax and tax surcharge
together exceed $1,000, and are equal to 25% of the prior year's
franchise tax and tax surcharge. The remaining three
instaliments of estimated tax are due in the 6th, 9th and 12th
month of the tax year. If the minimum amounts are not paid on
time, an underpayment penalty may be imposed for the period of
underpayment. Total estimated tax payments must equal 90% of
the current year’s tax.

Exceptions

No penalty is due on an installment if the total estimated tax
payments made on or before an installment due date equals or
exceeds the amount which would have been required to be paid
on or before that date if the estimated tax were the smallest of:

(1) Tax shown on return for preceding tax year (if it was a
period of 12 months). This exception cannot be used for
calendar year 1990 or fiscal years ending in 1991.

(2) Tax equal to current tax rates applied to last year's facts and
law.

(3) 90% of the tax for the current year computed on an
annualized basis.

(4) 90% of the tax for the current year computed on a recurring
seasonal income basis.

(5) For tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 1990, a
reduction in an estimated tax payment resulting from using
annualized income or seasonal income exceptions
(exceptions 3 and 4) must be made up in the next payment.

Exceptions 1 and 2 do not apply to /arge corporations. A large
corporation is one that had (or its predecessor had) allocated
taxable income of at least one million dollars for any of the three
tax years immediately preceding the tax year involved.

Exception 3 applies if the estimated tax you paid was at least
90% of the amount you would owe if your estimated tax was
computed on annualized taxable income for the months
preceding an installment date.

You may annualize income as follows:

a. based on the first 3 months or the first 5 months of the tax
year, for the installment required to be paid in the 6th month

b. based on the first 6 months or the first 8 months of the tax
year, for the installment required to be paid in the 9th month

c. based on the first 9 months or the first 11 months of the tax
year, for the installment required to be paid in the 12th
month

To annualize, multiply taxable income for the period by 12, and
divide the result by the number of months in the period (3, 5, 6,
8, 9 or 11).

Exception 4 applies if you have recurring seasonal income.
Under this exception, you may annualize income by assuming
that income earned in the current year is earned in the same
seasonal pattern as in the three preceding tax years. For
information about computing seasonal income, see Article 27,
section 1085(d)(4).

Computation of Underpayments

Compilete lines 1 through 12 to determine any underpayment of
estimated taxes.

Line 1 - Check the appropriate box to indicate which exception
you are using to compute the penalty for underpayment of
estimated tax. If you have elected to compute the penalty using
exception 2, complete lines 2 through 5. If you have elected
exception 3, 4 or 5, attach a schedule showing the computation
of the installments.

Line 2 - Enter in the 1989 column an amount equal to your 1989
franchise tax increased by the 1990 tax surcharge rate of 15%.
See item (2) under Exceptions. No penalty will be imposed for
underestimating an installment because of the tax surcharge for
any payment due prior to September 15, 1990.

Line 7 - If you have elected (on line 1):

Exception (2) - Divide the amount from line 5, 1990 column, by
three and enter in columns B, C and D.

Exception (3) - Enter appropriate instaliments in columns B, C
(4), or (5) and D. Attach statement of computation.

Line 8 - A payment of estimated tax is applied against
underpayments of required installments in the order in which
such installments are required to be paid.

Example: Calendar-year taxpayer

Mandatory first installment due on 345 .. .............. $1,500
Second installmentdue on 6/15 .. .................... $1,000
Paymentmadeon 6/15............................. $2,000
Paymentmadeon9M5 ............................. $1,500

Penalty is due on $1,500 from March 15 to June 15.
Penaity is due on $500 from June 15 to September 15.

Computation of Underpayment Penalty

Complete lines 13 through 29 to determine the amount of
penalty.

C Corporations
Penalty will not be imposed on the tax surcharge portion of any
estimated tax payment due prior to September 15, 1990.

S Corporations
Penalty will not be imposed on any part of an estimated tax
payment due prior to September 22, 1990.

A penalty is due on each underpayment from the due date of
the installment to the date it is paid or to the due date of the
franchise tax return.

The penalty is computed for the period of underpayment at a
rate set by Article 27, section 1096(e)(3). Daily compounding of
interest does not apply.

For rates not printed, or for information or assistance, you may
call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX

(1 800 225-5829); from outside New York State, call

(518) 438-8581.

Line 30 - In each column enter either the amount from line 29
or, if the installment payment (line 10) equals 80% or more of
line 2, 1990 column, divided by four, the amount in the
corresponding column of line 29 multiplied

by 75%.



