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From the Commissioner

In last year's tax package, | asked you to think of the Tax
Department as a service agency. Within the Department, |
challenged our staff to find better ways to help citizens comply with
complex tax laws. | also asked you for your suggestions and
comments to aid our efforts at simplification.

Thanks to the many replies we received, we have improved a
number of our forms and instructions. Other good news, of course,
includes the first phase of the three-year program of tax cuts.
Besides raising the personal exemption and the standard
deduction and lowering the maximum rates, this program has
introduced a family adjustment. Carefully read the instructions on
the family adjustment to see if you qualify.

Along with the tax cut, the Legislature enacted and the Governor
signed a sweeping new set of laws to tighten tax enforcement in
New York State. The comprehensive overhaul and upgrading of
the civil and criminal penalties for all forms of tax evasion will put
real teeth behind the enhanced computer capabilities and
enforcement staff the Tax Department has put in place. You will
see continually increasing enforcement and prosecution until | can
assure you that you are no longer unfairly carrying the extra
burden of the tax cheat.

Finally, because we are increasing our enforcement efforts so
dramatically, a one-time amnesty period is being offered that will
end on January 31st. Before that date, any individual and most
businesses who have failed to file or who have underreported
income or taxes due will have the opportunity to come forward and
pay the taxes and interest they owe without fear of criminal or civil
penalties. After the end of the amnesty period, the new increased
penalties will go into effect. Amnesty will hasten the day when all
citizens are paying their fair share but only their fair share.

Sincerely,

—FRAULOL GOl

Roderick G.W. Chu
Commissioner
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General Information

THREE-YEAR TAX CUT PROGRAM

The $3.2 billion income tax cut benefits all taxpayers. There are a number
of changes in this year's tax packet due to this tax reduction program that
may affect you. These are highlighted below and are compared to 1984

1984 1985 1986 1987
Maximum tax rate on
wages and other 10% 9.5% 9.5% 9%
earned income
Maximum tax rate on
unearned income 14% 13.5% 13.5% 13%
17% of
Standard married income
deduction ($2.500 ~ $2750 83000 $3.800
max.)
17% of
Standard single income
deduction ($2.500 $2,500 $2.600 $2.800
max.)
Personal exemption $800 $850 $850 $900

Specific changes for 1985 include:

Maximum Tax on Personal Service Income Decreased

The maximum rate of tax on personal service income was reduced from
10% to 9.5%. The personal service taxable income level was also reduced.
from $17.000 to $15,000, allowing more of your income to qualify for the
maximum tax benefit. These changes are reflected on the 1985 Form
IT-250. Maximum Tax on Personal Service Income.

Tax Rate Decreased

The highest rate of tax on unearned income was reduced to 13.5%
beginning July 1, 1985. This represents an effective yearly rate of 13.75%
which is reflected in the 1985 New York State Tax Rate Schedule (see the

Other Changes For 1985

New Family Adjustment

The family adjustment is a tax benetfit for married couples with total New
York income (line 32, federal amount column) of $36,000 or less. Your
benefit is figured by allowing a deduction from income taxed at the usual
rates, and taxing the same amount at the lowest possible rates. The
family adjustment can bec as much as $3,000. For more information, see
page 15 of these instructions

Yonkers Tax Withholding Line
A new line has been added to Form IT-203 for City of Yonkers taxpayers
to enter their City of Yonkers withholding tax.

Federal Accelerated Cost Recovery System (ACRS)

The federal deduction will be allowed on your New York return for
recovery property placed in service in New York State for taxable years
beginning after December 31, 1984. Recovery property is tangible
property used either in a trade or business or held for the production of
income. In addition. the federal depreciation deduction under Section
280F of the Internal Revenue Code (relating to such items as luxury
automobiles) must be used for New York.

Estimated Tax Lines Combined

The estimated tax lines for New York State and the City of New York
have been combined into one line. This line will now reflect all estimated
tax payments made for New York State, the City of New York and now
the City of Yonkers.

Schedule A, Allocation of Wage and Salary Income to New York State
This schedule has been moved from Form 1T-203 to page 2 of Form IT-
203-ATT. It must be completed if you worked both inside and outside
New York State for an employer. and your income is not based on the
volume of business transacted

Omnibus Tax Equity and Enforcement Act

New legislation has created the Omnibus Tax Equity and Enforcement
Act which imposes stronger and more effective civil and criminal
penalties on tax evaders and delinquents. Certain criminal penalties have
been elevated to felony status. allowing court imposed fines of up to
$50.000. Misdemeanor convictions may bring fines of up to $10.000.

* Increased Standard Deduction

limitation percentage.

¢ Increased Exemption Amount

back cover of this packet or page 2 of Form IT-203-ATT)

The standard deduction is now a flat amount of $2,500 for single
taxpayers and $2,750 for married taxpayers. Previously, the standard
deduction ranged from a low of $1,500 to a maximum of $2,500
depending on income. The standard deduction is now subject to the

The personal exemption has been increased from $800 to $850.

Amendments were also made to stiffen certain civil penalties under the
Tax Law. New penaities for substantial understatement of income, filing
frivolous returns. understating income tax withholding and aiding or
assisting in the preparation of fraudulent returns, reports, statements or
other documents were added to the Tax Law. The Tax Law was aiso
amended to change the basic criteria for providing tax liability relief to an
innocent spouse by dropping the 25% omission of New York adjusted
gross income provision. More information on the Omnibus Act may be
obtained from the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau (see Forms and
Assistance on page 6 of these instructions).

General Information

Income Subject to Tax

If you are a New York State nonresident,
almost all income included in your federal
adjusted gross income which is derived from
or connected with New York State sources is
subject to New York State tax. This includes
income from:

O Real or tangible personal property located
in New York;

O Services performed in New York:

0O A business, trade, profession or
occupation carried on in New York;

0O A corporation in which you are a
shareholder and which makes an election
under Section 660 of the Tax Law to be
taxed as a small business corporation (S
corporation);

O Your distributive share of New York State
partnership income or gain; and

0O Your share of New York State estate or
trust income or gain.

A nonresident is also subject to:
w York State minimum income tax on

tax preference items derived from or
connected with New York sources;

O A separate tax on the ordinary income
portion of lump sum distributions derived
from or connected with New York sources;
and

O A separate tax, resulting from the
termination of a PASS (parents’ and
students’ savings) fund.

You do not have to pay New York State tax
on the following income even if it was
included in your federal adjusted gross
income:

O Annuities, interest, dividends or gains from
the sale or exchange of intangible personal
property, unless they are part of the
income you received from carrying on a
business, trade, profession or occupation
in New York.

0O Compensation you received for active
service in the United States military.

O Your income as a shareholder of a
corporation which did not have an election
in effect to be taxed as a small business

corporation (S corporation) under Section
660 of the Tax Law.

O Your distributive or prorata share for
federal income tax purposes of income,
gain, loss or deduction from an insurance
business doing business as a member of
the New York Insurance Exchange.

Who Must File

You must file a New York State nonresident
income tax return, Form IT-203, if you are not
a resident of New York State and you meet
any of these conditions:

O You are single, a qualifying widow(er) with
a dependent child or a head of household
with a qualifying person, and your total
New York income is more than the number
of your exemptions multiplied by $850 and
your total New York income determined as
if you were a New York resident is more
than $2,500. Your total New York income is
the amount that you enter on line 32,
column A, of Form IT-203. Your total New



York income determined as if you were a
New York State resident is the amount that
you enter on line 32, Federal Amount
column of Form IT-203.

O You are married and your combined total
New York income is more than your
combined number of exemptions
multiplied by $850, and your combined
total New York income determined as if
you both were New York State residents is
more than $5,000.

0 You have New York tax preference items,
for minimum income tax purposes, in
excess of your specific deduction. For
further information, see the instructions for
Form IT-220.

0O You are subject to a separate tax on any
lump sum distributions derived from or
connected with New York State sources.

O You are subject to a separate tax because
a PASS (parents’ and students’ savings)
fund was terminated.

O You incurred a net operating loss for New
York State personal income tax purposes
for the taxable year without incurring a
similar net operating loss for federal
income tax purposes.

Even if you do not have to file a return, you
should file to get a refund if New York State,
City of New York or City of Yonkers income
taxes were withheld from your pay.

City Taxes — If you were a City of New York
or City of Yonkers nonresident but earned
wages or conducted a trade or business in
these cities (either as an individual or a
member of a partnership), you may have to
figure your City of New York nonresident
earnings tax on Form NYC-203 or your City
of Yonkers nonresident earnings tax on Form
Y-203 and attach the form to your New York
State nonresident return. For more
information on the City of New York
nonresident earnings tax, see page 20 of
these instructions. For more information on
the City of Yonkers nonresident earnings tax,
see Y-203-|, the instructions for Form Y-203.

Joint and Separate
Returns for
Married Taxpayers

If you each have total New York income that
is more than the number of your personal
exemptions multiplied by $850, you will
usually pay less tax if you file separate New
York State income tax returns.

The way you filed your federal income tax
return determines the way you must file your
New York State nonresident income tax
return.

If you filed a joint federal return (or if ncither
of you had to file a federal return):

O You can file a joint New York State return
on Form IT-203, or

O You can file separate New York State
returns on the same Form IT-203.

Filing separate returns will usually resultin a
lower New York tax. However, the deduction
for a married couple when both work cannot

be claimed on separate returns. In some
cases, your tax may be less if you file a joint
New York State return and claim the federal
deduction for a married couple when both
work and the New York State family
adjustment. You may want to figure your tax
both ways to see which results in the lower
tax.

If one spouse was a New York State resident
for the entire taxable year and the other was a
nonresident for the entire taxable year (and
each one is required to file a New York State
return), each spouse must file a separate New
York State return using resident Form IT-201
or nonresident Form 1T-203, whichever
applies. However, they may file a joint state
return if they have filed a joint federal return
and if they both file as New York State
residents for the entire taxable year. If either
spouse changed residence during the taxable
year, see Part-Year Residents on page 5 of
these instructions.

It you filed separate federal returns, you must
each file a separate Form IT-203 using
column A for your New York entries.

When to File

File your return as soon as you can after
January 1, 1986, but not later than April 15,
1986. If you file late, you may have to pay
penalties and interest. See Penalties and
Interest on page 4 of these instructions.

Extension of time to file — If you know that
you cannot meet the April 15 deadline, ask for
an extension of time by filing Form IT-370,
Application for Automatic Extension of Time
to File. The time to file will be automatically
extended for four months if you file Form IT-
370 on time and pay the tax you owe with it.

If you do not expect to owe any tax and you
are filing Form 4868 to extend the time to file
your federal return, you can also use a copy
of it to extend the time to file your New York
return instead of filing Form 1T-370. Write “NY
State Copy” in the top margin and mail it to:
New York State Income Tax, Division 46-C,
Processing Division, W.A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, NY 12227-0125. Remember to attach
a copy of the extension form to your Form
IT-203.

If you are traveling or living outside the
United States on April 15, 1986, you are
automatically granted an extension to June
15, 1986 to file your federal and state returns.
For more information, see Publication 362,
U.S. Citizens Abroad.

Where to File

Use the preaddressed envelope that came
with your tax packet. If you do not have one,
address your envelope —

For refund returns:
New York State Income Tax
W.A. Harriman Campus — REFUND '85
Albany, NY 12227-0125

For all other returns:
New York State Income Tax
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227-0125
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Maximum Tax on
Personal Service
Income

If your taxable income includes more than
$15,000 of personal service income (wages,
salaries, professional fees, bonuses, etc.), you
may qualify for a maximum tax benefit.
Complete Form 1T-250 to figure your
maximum tax and attach it to your return. See
page 2 of Form IT-250 for definitions and for
line-by-line instructions.

Household Credit

If your household gross income was less than
$25,000 and if you cannot be claimed as a
dependent on another taxpayer's federal
return, you qualify for a $40 to $70 household
credit. For more information, see page 16 of
these instructions.

Wage and Tax
Statements

Your employer must give you a wage and tax
statement, either federal Form W-2 or New
York State Form 1T-2102. This statement
shows your total earnings and the amount of
New York State, City of Noew York and City of
Yonkers taxes withheld from your pay during
the year.

If you received periodic annuity, pension,
retired pay or IRA payments and New York
State income tax was withheld, the payer
must give you a statement, either federal
Form W-2P or New York State Form IT-
2102P. This statement shows the amount of
your gross and taxable retirement plan
payments, and the New York State, City of
New York and City of Yonkers taxes withheld
from your payments during the year.

You must attach the copy of your wage and
tax statement for New York State to your
return. If you have not received your wage
and tax statement by February 17, 1986 or if it
is incorrect or lost, contact your employer or
the payer of your retirement plan payments.

Whole Dollar Amounts

You may round all money items on your
return to the nearest dollar. For example,
round $10.49 to $10; round $10.50 to $11. If
you round to the nearest dollar, round for all
amounts.

Death of Taxpayer

An executor, administrator or spouse has to
file a New York State return for a taxpayer
who died during 1985 or before filing his
1985 return. If a joint federal income tax
return was filed for the deceased taxpayer
and the surviving spouse, joint or separate
New York State returns can be filed on Form
1T-203. Complete Item D by entering the
deceased taxpayer's first name and the date

of death. The filing due date is the sa -
the taxpayer had lived. m
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Paid Preparers Must
Sign Your Return

If you pay someone to prepare your tax
return, he must sign it (you must also sign it),
date it and enter his address on the paid
preparer’s line. If a firm or corporation
prepares your return, it should be signed in
the name of that firm or corporation. If
someone prepares your return and does not
charge you, he should not sign it.

Payments of
Estimated Tax

If you expect your 1986 tax withheld to be
less than 80% of your 1986 tax or less than
100% of your 1985 tax (based upon a return
covering 12 months), you may have to pay
estimated tax. You do not have to pay
estimated tax if you expect to owe less than
$100 of New York State tax after deducting
tax withheld and credits that you are entitled
to claim. See Form IT-2105, New York State,
City of New York and City of Yonkers
Estimated Income Tax, for more information.

If you paid estimated tax for 1985, you will
automatically receive a 1986 estimated tax
packet in the mail. If you did not pay
estimated tax for 1985, or do not receive your
packet by the date your first payment is due
(generally April 15), call or write to us for
forms and instructions (see page 6 of these
instructions).

Penalties and Interest

Interest — Daily compounded interest will be
charged on income tax that is not paid on or
before April 15, 1986 even if you received an

extension of time to file your return.

If we have to pay interest to you because we
didn't issue your refund check by July 15,
1986 (or if your return was filed after April 15,
1986, within 3 months from the date it was
filed), it also will be compounded daily.
However, we will not pay interest to you if
your return cannot be processed. To be
processed, your return must show your name,
address, social security number, signature
and the information needed to mathematically
verify your tax liability.

Late filing penalty — If you file late, you will
be charged a penalty of 5% of the tax due for
each month, or part of a month, that the
return is late (maximum 25%) unless you
extend the time to file, or attach to your return
an explanation showing reasonable cause for
the delay. If your return is more than 60 days
late, the penalty will not be less than $100 or
100% of the balance of tax due on your
return, whichever is less. For information on
filing an extension of time to file your return,,
see When to File on page 3 of these
instructions.

Late payment penalty — If you do not pay
your tax when due, you will be charged a
penalty of %2 of 1% of the unpaid amount for
22~h month or part of a month it is not paid.

l 100 |'alty is in addition to the interest

charged for late payments. This penalty may
not be charged if you attach to your return an
explanation showing reasonable cause for
paying late.

Substantial understatement of liability — If
you understate your tax by more than 10% of
the tax required to be shown on ycur return
or $2,000 (whichever is greater), 10% of any
underpayment resulting from the substantial
understatement may be added to your tax.

Underpayment of estimated tax penalty — If
your 1985 withholding and estimated tax
payments do not equal at least 80% of your
1985 tax, you may be subject to a penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax. Attach Form
IT-2105.9, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by
Individuals, to show how you figured the
penalty or which exceptions to the penalty
apply. For more information, see the
instructions for Form IT-2105.9.

Negligence Penalty — If your return does not
show all of the tax imposed under the Tax
Law, rules or regulations, due to negligence
or intentional disregard but not with intent to
defraud, you will be charged a penalty of 5%
of any deficient amount. In addition, 50% of
the interest due on any underpayment
resulting from negligence will be added to
your tax.

Fraudulent returns — Penalties are

imposed on any person who willfully fails to
file a return, who files a fraudulent return,
or who attempts to evade the tax in any
manner. In addition, 50% of the interest due
on any underpayment resulting from a
fraudulent act will be added to your tax.

WARNING
Intentional tax evasion — Repeatedly
failing to file your tax returns and
substantially understating your tax liability
with intent to defraud are now felony
offenses under New York Penal Law. In
addition to existing felony sentences,

conviction may result in a fine of up to
$50,000.

Changes in
Your Federal Tax

If the Internal Revenue Service changes the
taxable income, tax preference items, total
taxable amount or ordinary income portion of
a lump sum distribution, or credit for child
and dependent care that you reported on
your federal return, and the change increases
or decreases your New York State tax, you
must report these changes to the New York
State Tax Department within 90 days after the
date the IRS makes its final determination. To
report these changes, complete Form IT-115
and, if necessary, Forms IT-115.1 (minimum
income tax) and IT-115.3 (separate tax on
jump sum distributions). File these forms
separately; do not attach them to any other
returns.

Amended Returns

If you file an amended federal return showing

a change in your taxable income, tax
preference items, total taxable amount or
ordinary income portion of a lump sum
distribution, or credit for child and dependent
care, you must also file an amended New
York State return within 90 days of the date
you amend your federal return if the change
increases or decreases your New York State
tax.

You must also file an amended return to
correct any errors on your original
nonresident return. To amend your original
Form IT-203, get a blank Form IT-203 for that
year and write “Amended” at the top of page
1. Complete the form entering the corrected
information. Attach payment for any
additional tax plus interest that may result
from these changes. Send it to New York
State Income Tax, W.A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, NY 12227-0125.

For more information, see Publication 380,
How to Amend Your New York State Income
Tax Return.

Resident and
Nonresident Defined

You may have to pay income tax as a New
York State resident even if you are not
considered a resident for other purposes. For
income tax purposes, you have to consider
where you were domiciled and where you
maintained a permanent place of abode
during the taxable year.

in general, your domicile is the place that you
intend to have as your permanent home —the
place you intend to return to whenever you
may be away. For income tax purposes, your
domicile is the state where your permanent
home is located.

You can have only one domicile. Your
domicile does not change until you move to a
new location with the sincere intention of
making your permanent home there. If you
move to a new location but intend to stay
there only for a limited amount of time (no
matter how iong), your domicile does not
change.

A permanent place of abode is a residence
you permanently maintain, whether you own
it or not, and usually includes a residence
your spouse owns or leases. A place of abode
is not permanent if you maintain it only
during a temporary or limited period of time
for a particular purpose.

Resident — You are a New York State
resident if:

a) Your domicile is not New York State but
you maintain a permanent place of abode
in New York and spend 184 days or more
in New York during the taxable year.
However, if you are a member of the
armed forces and your domicile is not New
York State, you are not a resident under
this definition; or

b) Your domicile is New York State unless
you meet all three of the conditions in
either Group A or Group B as follows:



Group A

1) You did not maintain any permanent place
of abode in New York State during the
taxable year; and

2) You maintained a permanent place of
abode outside New York State during the
entire taxable year; and

3) You spent 30 days or less in New York
State during the taxable year.

Group B

1) You were in a foreign country for at least
450 days during any period of 548
consecutive days, and

You spent 90 days or less in New York
State during this 548 day period, and your
spouse (unless legally separated) or minor
children spent 90 days or less in New York
during this 548 day period in a permanent
place of abode maintained by you; and
During any period of less than one year
which is in this 548 consecutive day
period, (which would be treated as a
separate taxable period as a result of a
change of resident status during the year),
you were in New York State for no more
than the number of days bearing the same
ratio to 90 as the number of days in the
less-than-one-year period bears to 548
days. Your status is determined by the
following formula:

2

—

&L

No. of days in the less-
than-one-year period

548

(No. of days not to be exceeded
in NY to meet this condition.)

X 90=

For more information, see Publication 362,
U.S. Citizens Abroad.

Nonresident — You are a New York State
nonresident if you do not meet the above
definition of a resident.

City Nonresident
Earnings Taxes
(Cities of New York
and Yonkers)

If you are not a City of New York or City of
Yonkers resident, but you earned wages or
self-employment income there and you have
to file a New York State income tax return,
you must also file Form NYC-203, City of New
York Nonresident Earnings Tax Return and/or
Form Y-203, Yonkers Nonresident Earnings
Tax Return.

If you are married, you cannot file jointly on
Form NYC-203 and/or Form Y-203. If you
each have taxable earnings, you must each
file a separate Form NYC-203 and/or Form
Y-203.

Form NYC-203 and Form Y-203 are due the
same time as your state return and must be
attached to it. For more information, see the
instructions for these forms.

Part-Year Residents

If you became a New York State resident or
moved out of New York during the year, you
may have to pay New York State income tax
for that part of the taxable year you were a
New York resident. If you received income
from New York State sources during the time
you were a nonresident, that income may also
be subject to New York State tax.

If you changed your resident status, you may
have to file both a resident return (Form
IT-201) and a nonresident return (Form
IT-203) for the taxable year.

You will also have to complete Form 1T-360,
Change of Resident Status, and attach it to
your New York returns. For more information,
see Form IT-360-| which contains the
instructions for Form (T-360.

Partnerships

Partnerships are not subject to the New
York State personal income tax but
individual members of the partnership are.
If your partnership has a partner who is a
New York State resident or if the
partnership has any income from New York
State sources, it must file Form IT-204, New
York State Partnership Return. |If you were
a partner, transfer your share of income (or
loss), deductions and adjustments from
Form IT-204 to your Form IT-203. For more
information, see the instructions for Form
IT-204.

Members of the
Armed Forces

If your permanent home (domicile) was
outside New York State when you entered the
military, you do not become a New York State
resident even if you were assigned to duty in
New York State and established a place of
abode in New York State. If you are a New
York State nonresident, your military pay is
not subject to New York State tax. However,
any other New York income (including your
spouse’s income) may be subject to tax.

If your domicile is New York State but you

meet all three of the conditions in Group A

above and want to file for a refund of any

New York State income tax withheld, file

nonresident Form {T-203 and attach an

explanation which contains the following
information:

[0 A statement that you had no permanent
place of abode in New York State during
the taxable year; and

[0 The location and a brief description of the
permanent place of abode you maintained
outside New York State and the beginning
and ending dates of your stay there; and

O The exact number of days you were in
New York State during the taxable year.

If you meet all three conditions in Group B

above and want a refund, file nonresident

Form IT-203 and attach a statement

explaining how you meet the three

conditions.

For more information, see Publication 361,

Military Personnel and Veterans.
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Name and
Social Security
Number on Forms

You must enter your name and social security
number on all forms and schedules you send
to us. If you owe income tax, write your social
security number on your check or money
order.

Privacy Notification

The authority to request this personal
information from you or your employer,
including identifying numbers (social security
numbers, etc.), is found in Sections 651, 652,
658. 697, 1306, 1332 and 1342, Articles 22, 30,
30-A and 30-B in general of the Tax Law,
Article 2-E of the General City Law and Part
152 of the Personal Income Tax Regulations.
The principal purpose for which the
information is collected is to assist the
Department of Taxation and Finance in
determining New York State personal income
tax liabilities under Article 22 of the Tax Law,
New York City personal income tax liabilities
under Article 30 of the Tax Law and Article
2-E of the General City Law, and City of
Yonkers income tax surcharge on residents
and earnings tax on nonresidents under
Articles 30-A and 30-B of the Tax Law. The
authority to maintain this information is found
in Section 697(e) of the Tax Law and Section
152.8 of the Personal Income Tax Regulations.

The information will be used for tax
administration purposes and as necessary
under Education Law Section 663, Social
Services Law Sections 23, 111-b and 136-g,
Executive Law Section 49, Labor Law Section
537, Tax Law Sections 171-a, 171-b, 171-c,
171-d, 171-e and 697 and for any other
purpose authorized by law, and when the
taxpayer gives written authorization to this
department for another department, person,
agency or entity to have access, limited or
otherwise, to information contained in his
return.

Failure to provide the requested
information may result in civil penalties
under Sections 685, 1312, 1332 and 1342 of
the Tax Law and/or criminal penalties
under Article 37 of the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the
Director, Accounting and Records
Management Bureau, Processing Division,
Department of Taxation and Finance, W.A.
Harriman Campus, Building 8, Room 905,
Albany, New York 12227, (518) 438-8581.

Federal/State
Tax Agreement

Under authority of federal and New York
State laws, the New York State Department
of Taxation and Finance and the Internal
Revenue Service have entered into a

federal/state agreement for the mu
exchange of tax information.
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Other Forms You
May Have to Use

Form IT-203-ATT, Summary of Other
Credits and Taxes, and Schedule A,
Allocation of Wage and Salary Income to
New York State. Complete this form if you
are subject to any other New York State
taxes or if you want to claim other New
York State credits. You must complete
Schedule A on this form if you worked both
inside and outside of New York State for an
employer, and your income is not based on
the volume of business transacted.

For more information, see the instructions
for Form IT-203-ATT on page 19.

Form IT-220, Minimum Income Tax
Computation Schedule. Complete this form if
you had a net long-term capital gain, claimed
accelerated depreciation or amortization of
certain facilities, claimed the dividend
exclusion or had other tax preference items
from New York sources totaling more than
the allowable specific deductions. You may
have to file Form 1T-220 even if you are not
required to file federal Form 6251, Alternative
Minimum Tax Computation. For more
information, see the instructions for Form
17-220.

Forms IT-230 and 1T-230.1, Separate Tax on
Lump Sum Distributions. Complete Form
IT-230 or IT-230.1 if you have to pay a
separate tax on the ordinary income portion
of a lump sum distribution which is wholly or
partly derived from or connected with New
York State sources. For more information, see
the instructions for Forms 1T-230 and
1T-230.1.

Form IT-399, Depreciation. Complete this
form if you are an individual, partnership,

estate or trust to figure your New York
depreciation deduction for property placed in
service during taxable years beginning in
1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, and for property
placed in service outside New York State in
taxable years beginning after December 31,
1984; the adjustment for the federal ACRS
deduction and the year of disposition
adjustment. For more information, see Form
IT-399. Important Note: If the election was
made to expense recovery property on
federal Form 4562, and you checked filing

status or , see specific instructions on
Form IT-399.

Computer Filled-In
Returns

If you use a computer to fill in your return, be

sure you meet these requirements:

O You must use the official income tax forms
that we provide. However, you may
computer generate any form that does not
require a signature as long as it is
substantially identical to the official form.

[ Your software must conform to current
federal and state income tax law. Last
year's program may not be suitable unless
it has been updated.

Forms and Assistance

You can get forms and publications at many
New York State banks and public libraries, or
by using the order blank in the tax packet
mailed to you. You can also get forms by
calling toll-free, in New York State only,
1-800-462-8100. From areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-1073.

For information or answers to your New York
State tax questions, call toll-free, in New York
State only, 1-800-342-3536. From areas

Steps for Preparing Your Return

outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

If you have a question about the status ot
your refund check, see When to Call About
Your Refund below.

Telephone assistance is available from 9 a.m.
to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you want
to write instead of calling, address your letter
to: NY State Tax Department, Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau, W.A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, NY 12227-0125.

When to Call
About Your Refund

Generally, early filers get their refund checks
first. However, if you file after April 1, you
may not receive your refund check for at least
12 weeks. If you have to call to ask where
your refund check is, please wait until after
April 15; then call toll-free, in New York State,
1-800-443-3200. From areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-6777.

Trying to Resolve a
Problem with the Tax
Department?

New York State has a new Problem
Resolution Program for taxpayers who have
been unable to resolve a problem with the
Tax Department. If you have a tax problem
and have made two or more attempts to
resolve it without success, you may seek help
from one of our Problern Resolution Officers
(PROs).

You may call or write to the PRO serving your
area. You can get the address and telephone
number by calling us (see Forms and
Assistance on this page).

Prepare your federal return first; much of the
information on your New York State
nonresident return will be the same. In many
cases when New York State and federal tax
laws are similar, the New York instructions do
not repeat all the requirements, but instead,
explain the differences.

Step 1

Get all forms, schedules and publications you
need.

If you need any forms or publications, see
Forms and Assistance on this page.

Step 2

Get your tax records together.

[0 If you received a salary or wages, get all
your 1985 wage and tax statements
together. These can be either New York
Form IT-2102 or federal Form W-2. If you
had tax withheld from annuities, pensions,
retired pay or IRA payments, get together
all of your New York Form(s) IT-2102P or
federal Form(s) W-2P.

O If you plan to take any New York credits or
deductions, get all the supporting

information and records you will need.

[3 if you made payments during the year for
your New York State, City of New York or
City of Yonkers estimated tax, check your
payments or credits that were applied to
your 1985 tax year.

Step 3
Fill in your return.

Fill in your return using the line-by-line
instructions that begin below. Make your
entries in the white areas of your Form
IT-203. Then continue with Step 4 on page 18.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Form IT-203

All information on your return, except for
your mailing address, should be for the
calendar year January 1 through December
31,1985, or for your fiscal year. If you are
filing for a fiscal year, enter the month and

“tax year began, and the month, day
m that it ended at the top of page 1.

Name and Address Box

Do not write in this box or attach your mailing
label until you have completed and checked
your return. Step 5 on page 18 of these
instructions will tell you how to complete this
section of your return.

Item A

Show your filing status by checking only one
box. If you filed a federal return, you must use
the same filing status for your New York State
nonresident return. However, if you are
married and filed a joint federal return, you

Filing Status



can file your New York State nonresident
return either jointly or separately on one
Form 1T-203. See Joint and Separate
Returns for Married Taxpayers on page 3
of these instructions.

Item B
Can you be claimed as a dependent?

If you can be claimed as a dependent on
another taxpayer's 1985 federal return, check
the YES box. If not, check the NO box.

Item C

If you were a New York State resident for part
of the year, enter in the box the number of full
months that you were a New York State
resident. Count as a full month any period of
more than one-half month; do not count a
period of one-half month or less. If you
changed your resident status, complete Form
IT-360 and attach it to your Form 1T-203. For
more information, see Part-Year Residents on
page 5 of these instructions.

Part-Year Residents

Item D Deceased Taxpayer

If the taxpayer is deceased, enter the first
name and the date of death in the spaces
provided.

Which Columns To Fill In

Lines 1 through 18 are a summary of the
items that make up your total income (federal
adjusted gross income). As a New York State
nonresident, you have to pay New York State
tax on income included in your federal
adjusted gross income which is derived from
or connected with New York State sources.
The federal amount column lists the items
which make up your federal adjusted gross
income. Column A (and column B if you
checked filing status(3)) is used to figure
your total income from New York sources.

Enter in the federal amount column the total
amount reported on your federal return for
each of the items listed. Enter in column A
(and column B if you checked filing status
@) the part of each amount in the federal
amount column that is derived from or
connected with New York State sources (see
Income Subject to Tax on page 2 to
determine what constitutes income derived
from or connected with New York State
sources). If you checked filing status @ do
not make any entries in column B; all entries
in column A should include amounts for both
husband and wife.

If you checked filing status @ enter in the
federal amount column the combined amount
of each item of income that you and your
spouse included in your joint federal return.
Enter in columns A and B your own shares of
each joint amount (determined as if you each
had filed a separate federal return) which is
derived from or connected with New York
State sources. You cannot split your
combined New York income equally. If you
have income from jointly-owned property
located in New York State, you each must
report your shares separately in columns A

and B, as if you determined your federal
incomes separately.

You do not have to attach an explanation of
how you figured amounts reported on lines 1
through 18 unless the total of columns A and
B does not equal the total of the federal
amount column.

Federal Income
and Adjustments

Line 1 wages, Salaries, Tips, Etc.

Federal Amount Column — Enter the amount
of your wages, salaries, tips, etc. reported on
your federal return.
Column A — Enter the part of the federal
amount which is for services performed in
New York State. If you checked filing status

, enter your share of this amount in
column A and your spouse’s share in column

B. Figure your separate shares of wages, etc., .

as if you each had filed a separate federal
return.

Income earned only partly inside New York
State — If any amount included in the federal
amount column, line 1, is income earned only
partly inside New York State, figure the
amount earned inside New York State by
completing Schedule A on page two of Form
IT-203-ATT (unless your compensation is
based upon the volume of business
transacted). The amount allocable to New
York State is that part of the income which
the number of days worked in New York State
bears to the total number of days worked
both inside and outside New York State.

Working days are days on which you have to
perform the usual duties of your job. This
does not ordinarily include duties performed
at your home. Nonworking days are holidays,
sick leave, vacations, Saturdays, Sundays, etc.

Form IT-203-ATT, Page 2, Schedule A —
Allocation of Wage and Salary Income to New
York State

Failure to complete Schedule A and attach it
to your Form 1T-203 will result in a delay in
the processing of your return.

Enter on line a of Schedule A any amount
included on line 1. in the federal amount
column, which was earned only partly inside
New York State. Then complete lines b
through f and use the allocation formula on
line g to find the amount of wage or salary
income you earned in New York State.
Include this amount on line 1, in column A (or
column B if filing status was checked and
your spouse’s income is allocated).

If more than one amount included in the
federal amount column of line 1 is to be
allocated on Schedule A, a separate schedule
(similar to Schedule A) showing the working
days that apply to each employment must be
prepared for each amount and attached to
your return. If the period of employment is
less than a full year, the items entered on
Schedule A must be based on the actual
period of employment. For example, if you
were employed inside and outside New York
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State for separate periods of 170 days by one
employer and 195 days by another employer,
enter 170 days and 195 days on line b of your
separate allocation schedules.

If your income to be allocated depends
entirely on the volume of business transacted,
as in the case of a salesman working on
commission, do not use Schedule A. In this
case, the amount of income you can allocate
to New York State is that part of the income
included in the federal amount column on line
1 which the volume of business transacted
inside New York State bears to the total
volume of business transacted both inside
and outside New York State. The location
where the services or sales activities were
actually performed determines where
business was transacted. Attach a schedule to
your return showing how you figured your
New York State income based on the volume
of business transacted.

if you allocate your personal service income
differently than explained above, attach a
separate schedule showing complete details.

Line 2 interest Income

Enter in the federal amount column the
interest income reported on your federal
return. Enter on line 2, column A (and in
column B, if you checked filing status @),
the part of this interest income which is from
the receipts of a business, trade, profession or
occupation carried on in New York State and
not otherwise exempt from New York State
income tax. If you conduct business both
inside and outside New York State, see
instructions for line 6.

Line 3 Dividends (after exclusion)
Enter in the federal amount column the
amount of dividends reported on your federal
return after subtracting any allowable federal
dividend exclusion.
Enter in column A, or in applicable columns A
and B if married and you checked filing status
3), the portion of your dividends (federal
amount column) which is part of the receipts
of a business, trade, profession or occupation
carried on in New York State and not
otherwise exempt from New York State
income tax. See instructions for line 6 relative
to the business allocation percentage if
business is carried on both inside and outside
New York State.
Any dividend exclusion allowable for federal
tax purposes should be applied to the first
qualifying dividends you received during the
year in determining the amount of dividends
to be included in column A or B on line 3.
If you checked filing status and if you are
both entitled to a federal exclusion on your
joint federal return, you may each claim only
your own federal exclusion in figuring the
amount of dividends you enter in your column.

Line 4

Taxable Refunds of State and Local Income
Taxes

Enter in the federal amount column the total
taxable state and local income tax re 103
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included as income on your federal return.
Enter in column A (and in column B if you
checked filing status ) the amounts
derived from or connected with New York
State sources.

Line 5 Alimony Received

Enter in the federal amount column the total
alimony received as reported on your federal
return.

Line 6 Business Income or (Loss)

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount included as business income or (loss)
on federal Form 1040. Enter in column A (and
column B, if you checked filing status @)
any amount included in the federal amount
column which represents the profit (or loss)
from a business or profession carried on in
New York State. Attach a copy of federal
Schedule C.

Business carried on — Your business, trade,
profession or occupation (not including
personal service as an employee) is
considered to be carried on in New York
State if you have, maintain, operate or occupy
desk space, an office, a shop, a store, a
warehouse, a factory, an agency or other
place where your affairs are regularly carried
on in New York State. This definition is not
exclusive. Your business is considered to be
carried on in New York State if it is transacted
here with a fair measure of permanency and
continuity.

Business carried on both inside and outside
New York State — If your business or
profession is carried on both inside and
outside New York State and you maintain
accounts clearly reflecting income from the
New York operations, enter the net profit or
loss from business carried on in New York
State on line 6 in column A (and column B, if
you checked filing status ).

If the New York State income of the business
cannot be determined from your books,
income from business carried on both inside
and outside New York State must be
allocated according to a prescribed formula
or an approved alternative method. (Form IT-
203-A, Nonresident Business Allocation
Schedule, containing the statutory formula
and other instructions pertaining to the
allocation of business income, must be
completed for this purpose and attached to
Form IT-203.) If you submit an alternative
method of allocation, you must also complete
Form IT-203-A and submit all information
about your own method of allocation.

Line 7 Capital Gain or (Loss)

Enter in the federal amount column, the net
gain or loss from sale or exchange of
property (including securities) exactly as
reported on federal Form 1040,

Capital transactions from New York sources —
Include capital gains or losses derived from
real or tangible personal property located
within New York State, whether or not
connected with a trade or business, and
nz=2! Z3ins or losses from stocks, bonds
rintangible personal property used

in or connected with a business, trade, pro-
fession or occupation carried on in New York
State. Also included is your share of any capital
gain or loss derived from New York sources of a
partnership of which you are a member (from
Form IT-204), an estate or trust of which you
are a beneficiary (from Form IT-205 or
IT-205-A) or an electing S corporation of which
you are a shareholder (from Form CT-3S). If
any capital gains or losses are from business
property (other than real property) of a
business carried on both inside and outside
New York State, apply the business ailocation
percentage (Form IT-203-A) or alternate
method in determining the New York capital
gain or loss. Gains and losses from the sale or
disposition of real property are not subject to
allocation. In all cases, the federal basis of
property is to be used in computing capital
gains or losses.

Capital transactions — Figure the amount to
be included on line 7, column A (and column
B, if you checked filing status ), as net
capital gain or loss from New York State
sources in accordance with federal provisions
for determining capital gains and losses. This
includes a deduction for any capital loss
carryover from New York State sources. Use
a copy of federal Schedule D (Form 1040) as
a worksheet in determining your New York
net capital gain or loss, including in your
computations only transactions which

were from New York State sources. If

you checked filing status (3), use separate
worksheets to determine the amounts to enter
in columns A and B. Attach a copy of federal
Schedule D. If these computations result in a
net capital loss for New York State purposes,
the loss is limited to $3,000 ($1,500 if married
and filing separately) on the New York State
return. in most cases, any batance of a 1985
net capital loss (in excess of the amount
claimed on the 1985 return) will be treated as
a carryover loss to be claimed on returns for
later years. This does not always apply when
a joint federal return and separate New York
State returns are filed.

For example, if you had a long-term capital
loss of $2,500, and your spouse had a short-
term capital gain of $1,600, you would report
a net capital loss of $450 on your joint federal
income tax return. This net capital loss of
$450 is entered in the federal amount column
of your New York return. After completing
separate worksheets, you would enter a
capital loss of $1,250 in your column and a
capital gain of $1,600 in your spouse’s
column. Since the joint net capital loss of
$450 is deductible on your joint federal

return for 1985, there is no capital loss
carryover to 1986, whether joint or separate
federal returns are filed for 1986. Since the
capital loss carryover is the same for both
federal and state purposes, no capital loss
carryover can be deducted for the 1986
taxable year, even if you and your spouse file
separate state returns. If 60% of your net
capital gain from New York State sources was
more than $5,000 ($2,500 if you are married
and filing separately), you must file Form
IT-220, Minimum Income Tax, even if you do
not have to file federal Form 6251, Alternative

Minimum Tax Computation. For more
information, see instructions for Form I1T-220.

Line 8 40% of Capital Gain Distributions
Enter the amount reported on your federal
return in the federal amount column. Enter in
column A (and column B if you checked filing
status @) amounts derived from or
connected with New York State sources and
subject to New York State tax.

Line 9 Supplemental Gains or (Losses)
Noncapital Transactions

Figure the amount(s) to be included on line 9,
column A (and in column B if you checked
filing status é) as the gain or loss from the
sale or exchange of noncapital assets by
applying the federal provisions for
determining gains or losses from the sale or
exchange of other than capital assets to your
New York State transactions. Attach a copy of
federal Form 4797.

Noncapital transactions from New York State
sources are those noncapital transactions
includible in your federal return pertaining to
property used in connection with a trade,
business, profession or occupation carried on
in New York State. Also included is your
share of any noncapital gain or loss from a
partnership of which you are a member (from
Form IT-204) or an estate or trust of which
you are a beneficiary (from Form 1T-205 or
IT-205-A) or an electing New York State
corporation of which you are a shareholder
(from Form CT-3S). Use Form IT-203-A if
allocation is required.

Line 10 Fully Taxable Pensions, IRA
Distributions and Annuities

Enter in the federal amount column the
amount reported on your federal return. Enter
in column A (and column B if you checked
filing status é@) amounts derived from or
connected with New York State sources and
subject to New York State tax. See the
instructions for line 28 on page 12 for
information regarding the pension and
annuity income exclusion.

Line 11 Taxable Amount of Other
Pensions and Annuities, Including Rollovers

Enter in the federal amount column the total
amount as reported on federal Form 1040 or
on any related federal schedules.

Enter in column A (and column B if you
checked filing status ) the portion of the
federal amount derived from or connected
with New York State sources.

Annuity Income — Include on line 11 in
column A (and column B if you checked filing
status ) the part of your annuity income
which is part of the receipts of a business,
trade, profession or occupation carried on in
New York State. See instructions for line 6
(and Form IT-203-A) regarding the business
allocation percentage if business is carried on
both inside and outside New York State.

Lines 12 and 13

Rents, Royalties, Partnerships, Estates,
Trusts, and S Corporations
Enter in the federal amount column the total










































